Shahjahanpur is a municipal board, town and district headquarters of Shahjahanpur District in Uttar Pradesh, India.

History Of Shahjahanpur
During the reign of Shahjahan, Mughal forces demolished the city of KANT and the Bargujar fort of Puwayan, built by descendants of Raja Pratap Singh Bargujar. After the battle, Shahjahan gifted 14 villages to two SIPEHSALARs (Diler Khan and Bahadur Khan) with the permission to construct fortresses. Diler Khan and Bahadur Khan founded Shahjahanpur on the ruins of KANT.

Mughals established the “district Kotwali” in the city and built the first Mosque in the town, presently at MOTI CHOK. They developed a fort in the nearby village of Nainar Khera, situated on the Garrah river. They also established 52 mohallas named after 52 qabilas (tribes) of Pathans in Afghanistan. Even today, a few of the local mohallas bear the name of these tribes.

The city came into limelight during the freedom struggle of India. Pandit Ram Prasad Bismil, Thakur Roshan Singh and Ashfaqulla Khan brought Shahjahanpur fame by their heroic contribution to Independence struggle. Therefore Shahjahanpur town is also known as Shaheedon Ki Nagri or Town of martyrs. bhavani singh chadudhary

Economy Of Shahjahanpur
Food Processing like Flour Mills, Rice Mills and Sugar Mills are the main businesses. Previously, carpet weaving used to be the main business. Now Shahjahanpur is developing as an industrial area. There are 3 sugar mills, Chemical & Fertilizer plants,K.S.F.L., paper mill, McDowell’s plant and IOC’s filling stations etc. Now in shahjahanpur Reliance Energy established Thermal Power station on Shahjahanpur Hardoi Road at Rosa.It contains large area coverage and is one of the largest thermal power plants of India.the oldest tyre showroom is ‘SAHNI TYRE HOUSE’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here