AKSHIRAM POKHARA, Hanuman Mandir, Deoria

The area now known as the Deoria District was once a part of the Kosala Kingdom – a prime centre of ancient Aryan culture surrounded by the Himalayas in the north, the Shyandika river in the south, the Panchala Kingdom in the west and the Magadh Kingdom in Bihar to the east. Apart from the many legends told about this area, archaeological remains, such as statues, coins, bricks, temples, and Budh Maths, have been discovered at many locations in this district, showing that there was a developed and organised society long ago.

Ancient history of the district is related with the Ramayana times when the Lord of Kosala, Ram, appointed his elder son Kusa the king of Kushwati, which is present-day Kushinagar. Before the Mahābhārat era, this area had been related with Chakravorty Samrat Mahasudtsan Mall and his kingdom. Kushinagar was well developed and prosperous. Close to the border of his kingdom was the thick forested area called the Mahavan. This area was under the control of the Maurya rulers, the Gupta rulers, the Bihar rulers, and then the Garhwal ruler Govinda Chandra from 1114 AD until 1154 AD.

The Deoria District came into existence on March 16, 1946, being separated from the Gorakhpur District. It is believed that the name Deoria is derived from Devaranya or possibly Devpuria. According to official gazetteers, the district was named “Deoria” after its headquarters in Deoria, and the term Deoria generally means a place where there are temples. The name Deoria probably developed because of the existence of important temples to Shiva, called Somnath Temple, and the goddess Durga, called Deorahi Temple on the northern bank of the Kurna river. The Kushinagar (Padrauna) district was formed in May 1994 by separating the north-east portion of the Deoria District.

Deoria is a city and a municipal board in Deoria district in the state of Uttar Pradesh, India. The name of the Railway Station is Deoria Sadar.

Geography Of Deoria
Deoria district is located between 26 ° 6′ and 27° 8′ north latitude to 83° 29′ and 84° 26′ east longitude. It is surrounded by Kushinagar district in the north, Gopalganj and Siwan districts of Bihar in the east, Mau and Ballia districts in the south and Gorakhpur district in the west.

Ghaghara, Rapti and Chhoti Gandak are the main rivers in the district. Salempur & Bhatpar Rani are the major cities apart from Deoria.

Deoria district consists of 5 tehsils:

  • Barhaj
  • Bhatpar Rani
  • Deoria
  • Rudrapur
  • Salempur

Education Of Deoria
Educational Institute in Deoria City

  • Government Intermediate College, Deoria
  • Kasturba Girls Intermediate College, Deoria
  • Baba Raaghav Das Intermediate College, Deoria
  • Maharaja Agrasen Intermediate College, Deoria
  • SSBL Intermediate College, Deoria
  • Maharaja Agrasen Girls Intermediate College, Deoria
  • Baba Raaghav Das Post Graduate College, Deoria
  • Sant Vinova Degree College, Deoria
  • Mahila Post Graduate College, Deoria
  • Jeevan Marg Sophia Secondary School, C C Road, Deoria, Deoria
  • Central Academy,Jail Road,Deoria, Deoria
  • Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Vidya Mandir,New colony, Deoria
  • Prestige Tutorial Intermediate College, Deoria
  • Saraswati vidya mandir, Deoria Khas, Deoria
  • Vijay Shree Gyansthali, RGT, deoria, Deoria
Previous articleChitrakoot
Next articleEtah


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here